Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Irish Tin Whistles

I have been using a D pennywhistle for a few years now. Mine is just a standard tin type. There are some custom wooden models that go for about $300. It is possible, but tricky, to play chromatically on them. They're really fun to play.

There's another user here named Elsie that's also into penny whistle. I really do like the sound of these and the color they bring to just about any composition they're used in.

pete said:
There's another user here named Elsie that's also into penny whistle. I really do like the sound of these and the color they bring to just about any composition they're used in.

There is a very haunting military like pennywhistle line in the movie Gangs of New York. I can't remember much about that movie, but those two notes that were played on the Pennywhistle always pop into my mind from time to time. Funny what sticks in your mind.

really surprised to see a whistle thread, I've played the whistle for about 4 years, and own 5, but not all work that great

We aim to please :).

Seriously: it's a wind instrument and it can be used very musically. I've even thought about picking one up.

It's definitely an instrument worthy of discussion!

decent gear, here?

I know it seems odd to think of shelling out serious cash for a whistle, but anyone who has will tell you it is well worth doing. 10 years ago I spent about $1000 building a small collection of really nicely made whistles in various keys. It's an investment I have never regretted - they inspired me to practice them hard, because they sounded so good. I quickly developed another performing genre, and the skill I gained at whistling improved my sax technique as well.

What do you recommend in this genre?