Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Exercises to strengthen my embouchure?

So, I have just started playing again after almost 10 years of not playing ... and I can only play for about 20-30 minutes (after about a week or two) and that is with a softer reed (2.5) ... Does anyone know any good exercises to try and build my embouchure back up? Or is it simply a matter of time and playing that will do it?

play
play
and oh wait, play

only way to build it up that i know. What horn are you on? I know when I take a long break from clarinet or high saxes, i.e. my 3 month sabbatical to the Keys this summer, I just played oboe for a couple of weeks and I was back to full strength. If you have access to a horn with more backpressure your embouchure strength will come back. That being said, I'm a professional doubler, so my muscle memory was still there on the other horns and I still played them, but the bulk of my playing was on oboe to strengthen the muscles back to where they should be. After that, the oboe goes back in it's case :-D, bout all the damn thing is good for

oh, another acceptable form of embouchure strengthening is playing the bagpipes, but alas few of us can do that. Where is saxismyaxe when I need him?

Only problem with pipes is it doesn't help you get your fingers back under you because you play from memory...

- long tones ... and oh wait MORE long tones
- Over tones (for that inner embouchure)
- as much playing as you can!

Hope that helps :eek:)

oh, another acceptable form of embouchure strengthening is playing the bagpipes, but alas few of us can do that. Where is saxismyaxe when I need him?

Only problem with pipes is it doesn't help you get your fingers back under you because you play from memory...

Right here M8.;) Playing the Great Highland Bagpipe in particular will put hair on your chest, that's for sure. Especially with a hard, new chanter reed and a leaky bag!:D