Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Weird, weird oboe.

I'm still an oboe newbie and full of questions with little time to search for answers, so if you'd all be so kind as to point me in the right direction - I've tried google unsuccessfully. I came across a LaFleur B&H import oboe with what looks like the keywork of a simple system clarinet. Two rings on the bottom joint, one little plateau style key in the center on the upper joint, one trill key, and everything else looks "normal" on the bottom joint. The previous owner says it plays just fine... but... what IS it?
It's most obviously an oboe, not a cone-shaped clarinet, mind you. The bell very clearly reads "JR LaFleur imported by boosey & hawkes" and here are your photos.

As far as I know, B&H's "La Fleur" and "400" lines were manufactured by Amati. (as are Corton-Brand clarinets)
Amati gave up non-bassoon double reeds some 40 years ago, but sometimes you can still see the odd Oboe or even English Horn pop up in online auctions.

There are indeed older "German System" oboes around, eg that one here.

Thank you so much for the quick reply! What a great link. Anyone know how old exactly my oboe is? I can't find serial numbers anywhere either. It's 35xx.
Thanks for your time, I don't want to be a burden. ;-)

I'm no oboe historian expert but that looks to be quite an early oboe (not super early) .. ie late 1800s or early 1900s. Kinda like in the same generation as early Albert keywork clarinets. Those older instruments (oboe and clarinet) share alot of design characteristics such as spoon touches, long keywork touches, etc.

Ahhh. I see - I was figuring the bell was mismatched because of that, it does not look like a Boosey & Hawkes Lafleur one bit. Not even close, apart from the bell which has that stamped as I said. I saw that and I thought, no way that was post 1938.