Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

What's this Section About?

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
I had noticed that I had created a number of computer and related threads and I just wanted a convenient place to put 'em. There are also a few other folks on this forum who have computer-related jobs and I wanted to let them have a place to play.

About Me
I'm an on-site computer technician with about 25 years of experience. I have a couple dozen computer-related certifications and an IT college degree. I'm also the guy that set up several iterations of the SOTW forum (note that I was not responsible for their move to vBulletin 4) and this forum. I also created the original Vintage Saxophone Gallery website (i.e. saxpics.com) originally as a place to practice my HTML skills. I've since dabbled in Mediawiki (the software that runs Wikipedia) and a few different blog software packages.

You may or may not find an answer to a computer-related question in this area. If you want to hire me for computer work, I charge $7500/hr, 1 hour minimum. :D

I am in awe of anyone who understands the workings of a computer. Is there any way to explain in terms a layman like myself can understand how a person can "interact" with images on a screen using a mouse or keyboard and do "stuff" like draw, solve mathematical equations, and gossip on internet forums? This question would be off the clock, of course. :)

That's very impressive, you are a millionaire after two working days!
Someone mentioned that I wouldn't get much work if I charged that much. I responded, "And your point is?"

Is there any way to explain in terms a layman like myself can understand how a person can "interact" with images on a screen using a mouse or keyboard and do "stuff" like draw, solve mathematical equations, and gossip on internet forums? This question would be off the clock, of course. :)
The answer is, "Maybe."