Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

New Here, which should i buy?

I am new to Clarinet and have decided to take the plunge on either a YAMAHA 650 or A Buffet Crampon E12, now here is my short story. Played Sax thru out JHS and HS, and was first chair on tenor sax, played after HS as well, then of course got married, had a wonderful son, put him thru college
and now have the time at 47 to give Clarinet a try, for pure enjoyment and nothing else, i did read music, but of course have not read music or played a SAX in over 18 years or so. If you were in the Market for either of these 2 horns which would it be and why? I noticed that there are not too many
Clarinet players into Yamaha, and plenty more into BUFFET. I have been doing my HOMEWORK and pretty much know all the models Buffet makes. I don't mind buying used, if the instrument is MINT or at least in EXCELLENT condition. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Also if anyone can recommend
i good quality mouthpiece costing no more than 150.00 that too will be appreciated. I do plan to get some basic lessons locally once i have the horn with me, as i know the clarinet fingering is different from SAX. Thanks in advance.

The YCL-650 is a professional horn and the Buffet E-12 is an intermediate horn. All other things being equal, I'd go for the Yamaha. Hey, they're about the same price, new.

I've been "into" Yamaha for years. I respect Buffet's clarinets. I think Selmer clarinets are also nice and some have been better than some of the Buffets I've played and vice-versa. There are hundreds of different makes and models that lots of folks would consider "good." I wouldn't turn my nose up at an SML Symphonie or a Couesnon. Leblanc has made some really nice horns, too.

You really need to determine how much cash you want to pay and if you want new or used -- and there are so many good used horns, I can't come up with a really compelling argument to buy something new.