Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

5RV Lyre vs Fobes/Hite/Behn for adult beginners

I'm an adult beginner who just bought his first clarinet! It hasn't arrived yet, but it will include a Vandoren 5RV Lyre mouthpiece.

I've read a bunch of threads about how the Hite Premiere, Fobes Debut and Behn Overture are excellent mouthpieces for beginners. My question is: Will I be better served purchasing a Debut or Overture to aid in the formation of my embouchure, or it the Vandoren 5RV Lyre OK for a beginner? Put another way: Is there any harm in starting on a 'non-beginners' mouthpiece?

It's a little difficult separating adult beginner info from that more suited to 5th graders!

I'm mostly into playing jazz, and my main goal is being able to jam on Real Book melodies and play simple solos with some friends (I have been playing guitar for 20+ years, so I know music theory, how to sight read, etc.).

I will find a teacher, but maybe not until summer. I'd like to play the clarinet in the meantime!

The Vandoren is a fine mouthpiece that will serve you well. Don't even start to think about other mouthpieces until you have spent at least a year on your clarinet or if your music instructor suggests it. Welcome, good luck and enjoy. :)

The great temptation with playing music is to assume that money spent will equal skills acquired. Until you know "how" to play clarinet, you don't really know what will work better or worse. And, without that experience (gained in the first year or so), you can't really sense what is going wrong.