Search results

1. bpimentel

Dumping XP for Linux

This is perhaps true from a technical standpoint, but doesn't match my Linux experience at all. The "open source" software culture that is so wholeheartedly embraced by the Linux community means that any decent piece of Linux software has its code looked at and improved by many people who have...
  2. bpimentel

Dumping XP for Linux

Try out a few distributions and see what you like. I switched from Windows to Linux a couple of years ago and couldn't be happier. I used Ubuntu for a while but am now using Linux Mint (Cinnamon edition), which suits my tastes better (and which some people believe has outstripped Ubuntu for...
  3. bpimentel

Signed on to flute and oboe lessons (and some serious goals)

As a college music professor, I echo this. College music departments are full of fun things to do, but sometimes students become "ensemble majors" and end up spending expensive extra years in school because of it. I applaud your enthusiasm but I suggest you touch base with your academic advisor...
  4. bpimentel

Mystery Woodwind ID

I should clarify what I meant by my previous post: there are "souvenir-quality" instruments that seem to be meant to resemble some specific real-life instrument, and some that are invented from whole cloth purely as souvenir items, not based on the design of any instrument in particular. From...
  5. bpimentel

Mystery Woodwind ID

Tough to tell for sure, but it looks suspiciously like the sort of decorative "souvenir" flute that well-meaning relatives bring me from their vacations, that feature a "Made in China" sticker even if the trip was to Peru.
  6. bpimentel

Bought my first professional clarinet!

Don't ask the band director. Ask the clarinet professor. Undoubtedly what every professor means when they say this, myself included, is that you need an instrument of professional quality, not one "marketed" as professional. These are of course not the same thing. It's reasonable for a...