Buescher Aristocrat Bb

I just received my Buescher Aristocrat, serial number of 729XXX indicates that it is 78 or 79 *I think*, is this correct? Basically a Selmer signet, I believe. Should make an OK starter.

Anyway, I am new to woodwinds, and starting on clarinet then moving to a Conn stencil C Mel sax(which I am repairing).

All in all, this Buescher horn is in AWESOME shape. Much better than I expected. I replaced two tennon corks, and it seems to function fine. I was planing on replacing the pads, but they are nearly new looking.

There does seem to be an issue with the connection mechanism at the middle tenon. The metal linkages do not seem to be meeting correctly, as the corresponding key on the upper section does not fully close. The cork on the connector seems to be worn. Is that the problem? What is the procedure for synching the mechanism of the two sections?

Thanks

The Clarinet upper joint lower ring pad and lower joint rings are connected through the bridge key.

Many times this bridge key, the one that sticks out from the upper joint, gets bent. This is more common on older clarinets as this flat bridge seems to be thinner on older models than more modern models.

You may have to adjust this key by using some pliers (no teeth on them, smooth pliers) and making it flat. Your finger also works well in adjusting it. The normal method is to bend it up. BUt be careful about making it a curve as then only one point touches the lower bridge key mechanism. You want to try and adjust a large portion of the flat metal that touches the lower joint mechanism.