Dumping XP for Linux

saxhound

Staff member
CE/Moderator
OK, I know we have a bunch of tech nerds here. I'm looking for a recommendation for a Linux distro for my XP laptop. Only two months until XP support goes away, and I have this perfectly good laptop I'd like to continue to use.
Details:
Lenovo Thinkpad R61i
Dual Pentium 1.86 Ghz
3 GB RAM
DVD / CD player / writer

I should add that while I am pretty conversant with Windows in all it's variations since 3.0, I'm a total newb when it comes to Linux, so I don't want to spend weeks learning CLI in order to configure this thing. I'm pretty much a GUI guy, although I still remember a few DOS commands and have been known to make the occasional registry hack.

Usage would primarily be for web browsing, light music editing (Audacity type stuff) & Open Office apps. I also use it currently as a backup machine to run Sibelius, but I don't think that will work unless I maintain a Windows partition. Not sure if that is a good idea or not.

Thoughts & recommendations?

I'm not a Linux guy, but if I were going to start using it, I download the free Ubuntu desktop. You can replace your current operating system or run Ubuntu alongside it. Pete's the computer guy on this board and he might have some recommendations.