Latebloomers and New Players a Few questions if you don't mind! :)

Hi there everyone I was just hoping I could ask a few questions...

I'm a Woodwind teacher looking for ways to find making teaching my older students more enjoyable/trying to find different strategies to teach them (Everyone learns differently) I was hoping you could tell me...

1) What things do you struggle the most with it in terms of personal time (Job? Late hours? Disturbing neighbours?)

2) What things do you find the most difficult on a musical level? (Tone production/rhythm/scales? things like that)

3) Why did you decide to start playing?

4) What kind of music do you enjoy playing? (Jazz/Classical/movie?)

5) If you play Jazz..do you transcribe? If not...what do you feel is holding you back? Is this something that would interest you?

6) What sort of exercises/songs do you find the most enjoyable? (Might be some overlap with question 4 )

7) How do you tend to break up your practise time? What sort of things to you practise when you practise? How do you practise them and what do you find most difficult about practising? (If it's jazz do you improvise...? Transcibe?) (Classical- Reading? Scales?)

Do you ever look up new methods of practising or would finding new ones that are more efficient interest you?

8) Do you study with a teacher regularly or prefer self-learning? (Go in for a lesson...work on everything..come back when you're ready?) If you study with a teacher what do you enjoy about your lesson? What do you feel could be improved/would like to work on?

9) Have you tried any online resources/courses in your learning scope? Did you like them? What did you like/dislike about them if you did? What could have been improved? If you were to take a course online what would you ideally like to see?

10) What's your goal ? What would you eventually like to be able to do/play ? :)

Last edited: