need some help to determine whether the reeds i bought are duds (Beginner)

Hello,

I am an adult beginner of a few months. I got a box of D'addario Reserve 3.0 with my clarinet, however I wanted to try something lighter and bought a box of Steuer Exclusive 2.5s, which according to their comparison chart, should be the same as D'addario Reserve 2.5s, so well softer than 3.0s.

The problem I have is, these actually feel a bit stiffer than the 3.0s I have been using before, and on top of that, I didn't find a single (to me at least) properly playble reed out of the box with these. Needless to say, I am a bit disappointed with my purchase, as I hoped for an easier and not more frustrating playing experience.

Right away, I noticed, these reeds feel very rough on the outside, like completely unfinished wood. The other thing I noticed was, compared to the reeds I have been using before, these reeds have somewhat uneven tips with tiny dents right out of the box (it was originally sealed though).
For me as a beginner, I have no way to judge if that's normal and fine, or if there is something wrong, so I attached a picture.
The ones on the right are the D'addario I have been using before and on the left (which says Made in France) are the Steuer ones. If you zoom in, you can see the dents I am talking about.

Upon reading up again on these reeds, I saw they actually say they are marketed towards professional musicians. I assumed that would mean superior quality, but I am confused because to my eye they seem very poor in quality. Does professional in this case mean, while these reeds are maybe made from superior raw materials, you are expected to have the tools and experience of a professional to make them playable, and not delivered in a 100% finished state?

Attachments

• IMG_0110.JPG
    IMG_0110.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 37