Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

A couple questions

Carl H.

Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Can you consider it a double if you don't own (have in your possession) the instrument?

How well must you play before the instrument can be considered a double?

I don't like playing borrowed instruments so I generally decline jobs calling for an instrument I am proficient on, but do not own.

I often encounter the folks who have accepted these gigs at the performances and most of the time, they have borrowed instruments and are not giving a strong performance. It's a bit of a dilemma for me. On the one hand I am a much better musician, but borrowed instruments aren't likely to be in very good condition and so I wouldn't want the poor quality instrument to make it appear as though I do not know how to play it - as the player in question appears.

On the other side are the hobbyists with deep pockets and a huge arsenal of high quality instruments, which they can barely assemble, let alone play. Some days I feel like I fall into this camp, except for the having money to buy instruments on a whim. Nothing seems to work and I wonder why I am not home with the family or walking the dog.

What are your thoughts? Am I alone here?

Interesting questions. On the subject of "doubling" on instruments you don't own:

I've had friends(?) say, "Hey, I've got this gig--can I borrow your clarinet? ... and a fingering chart?" This is clearly a situation where the person hasn't paid their dues on the instrument. Not a doubler, in my opinion. (On a semi-related note, I now have a policy of never lending instruments.)