Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Possible Solution for Right Thumb Pain

I just wanted to toss this out there for anyone who may benefit....

Since I started playing again, my right thumb has not been forgiving to me of the years my clarinet spent in it's case. I had even purchased a thumb support brace as at night, my thumb was hurting, and during our recent band concert, I actually had to massage my thumb a bit from the pain.

I purchased this little Ridenour Clarinet Thumb Saddle from WWBW for $11.99 and it has made a TREMENDOUS difference. My thumb still gets a little sore while playing, but now the pain goes away within about a 1/2 hour after I play, and the amount of pain and fatigue is lessening over time. No pain at night.

If you're interested, check out the link: http://www.wwbw.com/Ridenour-Clarinet-Thumb-Saddle-472122-i1431330.wwbw?mode=1

That looks like a great product. Thanks for the link. In my former life as a beginning band teacher, I always had on hand several feet of surgical tubing to make "little rubbers" for clarinet thumbrests. That helped but this product appears to be even better.

I'd been using a piece of cut tubing that MY beginning band director cut for me years ago! In the last kit I purchased with a new swab, cork grease, etc, there was a little foam thumbrest. This time around my thumb definitely needed something more, the saddle is doing the job. Ben's device is probably just as good, and definitely more cost effective! Thanks!

I've been using Ridenour's Thumb Saddle for a couple of years. It took a while to get used to it, but now I wouldn't be without it. It does protect the thumb, but also changes the angle of the RH fingers in a good way.

I think that is a great product that Mr. Ridenour created.

several problems that I have noticed for myself and students: