Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Electric or Analogue?

Hi,

Love the sound of the soprano sax but thought practice might be an issue (neighbours), so went in for an EWI instead. Then I moved. The EWI is fun but can be difficult for a newb due to the 'slur bar' on its base and the 'octave rollers', you've only got to look at either one of these sideways and you've lost control of the instrument. Would a real soprano sax be easier to control please - or even more difficult? I have 0 experience of the proper thing.

Many thanks,

Ric

Sorry - I think my post should be here: http://www.woodwindforum.com/forum/index.php?forums/bb-soprano-clarinet.1280/

:emoji_astonished:

Last edited:
That's a good question. I have no EWI experience, but normally a soprano sax is hard to learn as you really have to have good air support and a good embouchure. I never had a problem though as I also was a clarinet player (sax first though, but many professional lessons on both before I tried soprano).

But, without EWI experience, I would think the EWI would be easier. But, either one would require practicing as musical instruments just are not something you pick up and play immediately.

That's a good question. I have no EWI experience, but normally a soprano sax is hard to learn as you really have to have good air support and a good embouchure. I never had a problem though as I also was a clarinet player (sax first though, but many professional lessons on both before I tried soprano).

But, without EWI experience, I would think the EWI would be easier. But, either one would require practicing as musical instruments just are not something you pick up and play immediately.

Thanks.

I don't play the EWI enough, but I love the sop tonality. If I went for a real one I'd find a tutor :)