Are there any genuine bass clarinets in C?

Hey... new user here (couldn't find a welcome page so I said screw it). I've been playing piano for nearly 20 years, keyboard/synth for nearly 15, and organ for just over 12. Even though I could technically play just about anything with the right keyboard, I've lately been thinking about getting back into acoustic stuff. I used to play trombone, but that was more or less forced on me even though I wanted to play alto saxophone. I tried it, and it mainly didn't work out due to all of the transposing stuff.

Now I'm re-considering some odd years later but with a new condition - none of the instruments I pick up can be transposing... except at the octave. (I'm okay with that stuff) Among the other instruments I'm considering is the bass clarinet, but so far all I've found is B-flat pitched ones and an occasional E flat. There are some that have a 'low C' extension but these end up being B flat anyways. Yet I know that there are models out there that are pitched only an octave below concert pitch... and I want one.

Can any of you help me out?

I can't say that I have either seen or heard of one. Back in the 1800's there were a lot of instruments that were made in concert pitch, but that was mainly for the marching bands of the day. Bass clarinet is hard enough to play sitting down, let alone trying to march with one. There are a lot of C melody saxophones floating around, although I don't think anyone still makes them.

I'm not sure what you mean about problems with transposing. If you are playing in a group, the music will be written in the transposed key. If you are playing solo and reading piano music, you can just read the music as is, unless you are trying to play with a backing track.

Since the clarinet isn't familiar to you to begin with, just learn to read bass clef in concert pitch. It's a fairly common way for it to be notated and any bass clarinetist of any proficiency can read concert pitch too.