Boosey & Hawkes english horn?

Hi,
I have been wanting to buy an english horn and found someone selling a used Boosey & Hawkes.

B&H don't seem to be selling english horns any longer, so I am wondering if I should go ahead.
Any opinions on the quality and playability of these would be appreciated.
Also a price range as to what it may be worth...

I am new to playing double reeds. I have a oboe but have a difficult time playing on pitch.
It is really the english horn I would love to play and am thinking the lower pitch of the instrument may make it easier to play in tune. Is this the same as the difference between a soprano sax which I have hard time playing in tune vs an alto?

Dan

Greets Dan. Off topic I just had to look up your handle "Madoues" which means porcupine from Acadian origin. Is there a backstory? ;)

While not a double reed player, there is nothing inherently wrong with buying an instrument that isn't made anymore. I would think that how it plays to be the key thing. You might have a teacher or a pro play it first to check it out as it is very frustrating to try to learn to play a new instrument that has serious faults. As far as intonation for instruments, are you working on long tones to help you zero in on the correct pitch and sound?

Both oboe and English horns are hard instruments to master. Good luck on your quest.

Hi Gandalfe and thanks for the reply.

Yes madoues does mean porcupine, but originated in first nations language.
I come from Madwaska county in Canada which has the same origin, meaning " land of porcupines".

I was just wondering if Boosey and Hawkes stopped maikng english horns because of problems with their instruments, or if the quantity sold just wasn't worth their investment. I am hoping the later.

I would not be playing anything complicated and hoping I can learn enough for slow melodies.
If you know of songs of Chris Spheeris featuring the english horn you will know what I mean.

Dan

Hi Madoues: