Can someone Explain this device to me?

I'm not only a member, I'm a ... well, I'm an admin. I guess.

Let's see. Isn't this the guy that played The Tick? That'd be kinda kewl. Spooooon!

Anyhow, I've not heard of this thing before. I also had to wonder how they got P.E.T.E. out of "Personal Embouchure Training Device" (WWBW's got the name wrong. It's the "Personal Embouchure Training Exerciser"). I also wondered how big the thing actually was. It's dinky. They've also got a YouTube infomercial.

Anyhow, someone makes a rather good point in the YouTube comments: how is this thing any better than, say, a pencil?

Another trick is to hold a soda straw in your lips for 30 minutes at a time as you watch TV.

One of my favorites is to hold two pencils in the corners of your mouth for as long as you can.
Just read http://woodwindforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3532. Better tips for ya. Cheaper, too.

Thanks for that. If I had seen the vid, I wouldn't have asked. lol
It also seems to me a lolipop might work just as well. And taste better also. Actually, I have been reading that thread. Saw the auction at the same time, just got my curiocity up I guess.

That is for brass players. It is to help improve your airstream and build up your mouth muscles .. supposedly.

Of course, one could use a smaller throat mouthpiece to accomplish the same sort of thing, and practice long tones more.

and the straw .. I tell people to learn french horn.

Allegedly, French horn is, at least, the most difficult brasswind to play and may be the most difficult instrument to play, period. "May be" because oboe players have a claim to that title, too. (Interestingly, I could play almost an octave on an oboe and make quasi-musical sounds out of a French horn, but absolute zip from flute.)