Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Just starting teaching private lessons...Help!

I have been studying clarinet for over 13 years and now that my life seems a bit more settled, I am going to begin tutoring private students. I am kind of nervous since I've never taught private lessons before. I just need any and all advice from you who have been in this game longer than me :) I plan to use the blue Rubank books and as for theory I will use the first 3 Master Theory books and if the student has more of an interest I will have them continue on with the final 3.

Work on remaining positive. Some days it may be a challenge for reasons other than the student. Be happy to see EACH student, regardless of how you really feel.

The student deserves a teacher who is obviously on their side and not just nitpicking every little thing. Find ways to spin things as to be positive about how it will make things better and not just "that's wrong".

Step outside of yourself when you are struggling and try to see yourself through the students eyes. Sometimes finding the way to connect with a student can be harder than anything. !!

Have some hard work, and have some fun. Don't skimp on the fun, but don't avoid the hard work.

Prepare a syllabus for the first practice. I often ask the student what kind of music they favor and then hand them the classical, community band, or jazz version. List your fav play along music for the genre the student is interested in. List the three top challenges for any musician, what reading is available on those areas, and how you will be able to help them. You don't have to give them a handout, you could just use it as a guide that you develop for yourself. And if you really want to be a successful teacher, donate time to community bands, local big bands and ensembles. Networking is how your get your name out there and grow your customer base.

Here are some of my posts from my blog on the subject: