Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

never give up

I have a Selmer Super Action 80 tenor saxophone meade in 1986. I was a freshman in high school, played a beginner Bundy for years. I made All State in 8th grade, 2nd chair(they only took 2). My competition was from a school not more than 10 miles from my school, and this is a statewide thing. I am super competitive, so the next year, moving up to the next age group, I bet my Dad. If I made first chair, he would by me this horn. I won! Well, he did not have the money, but a bet is a bet, so he borrowed it, it had to be ordered from Paris, because at the time, there were none available, and it showed up just in time for me to take to State. Well, I am now 45 years old, this has always been my prized possession. Not only because I love the sax, but that my Dad went to such great lengths to secure one for me. I am just really curious what one is worth now? My grand niece is entering 5th grade and is wanting to explore being in band. I have bought a few beginner instruments for her to try, a Bundy clarinet, a geimenhardt flute, a yamaha trumpet, all used but
playable. I can also play all of these instruments, but i am not willing to let just anyone touch my sax. I do not
play anymore, work, life and what not, but letting someone else in is super hard. If she shows real interest, I will gladly pass it down. Unfortunately, I have paid for her to be in other ventures and she did not follow through, like ballet and such. we have a lot of instruments at my home, guitars, drum sets, and wind instruments. Just wondering what the concensus on the value of the horn is. Simply because I do not feel I can let an 11 year old have it before she developes a commitment. Band seems fun and great, but how many kids honestly make it through the first year?