One Day, in 1952 ...

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
I've been playing around with my "photoblog" for a few months. I'm now pretty happy with the layout and some of the functions -- I found a new full-page slideshow, for instance -- so I'm probably going to make it "public" pretty soon.

Anyhow, the idea I had for this particular post was, "When were the most of the best horns all available at once?" Here's the result.

Comments? Suggestions?

You mean brand new?

That period sounds likely.

You mean brand new?

That period sounds likely.
Yup. Brand new. And thanks, all, for the compliments.

Regarding not brand new, one could easily make the argument that when eBay got big -- say, 2002 (when they bought PayPal) -- that was the start of the best years for buying horns.

Personally, I think that you could make a very good argument that the best new horns of all time are available now. You've got the largest range of saxophone pitches (Bb sopranissimo to various sub-contrabasses), Italian-made horns are now known as some of the best horns available (Borgani, Rampone & Cazzani, Orsi), there are a host of "Artisan" manufacturers that make some incredibly nice instruments (Inderbinen, Jessen, etc.), you've got a completely new fingering system (Jim Schmidt), possibly the best bass and contrabass ever (Eppelsheim), you've now got the big-name Japanese makers (Yamaha, Yanagisawa, Antigua) and, if you want to go cheap, the Taiwanese/Chinese instruments have improved dramatically in the past 10 years.