Problem with Fibracell reeds

Bad news for people like me who have almost exclusively used Fibracell reeds. I've been using them for more than 10 years. They were consistent and had the tone I required, lasted well, and seemed OK for the premium cost.

Recently I ordered two 2/1/2 strength reeds for tenor sax. Both were unplayable duds. I contacted Fibracell and offered to send them back to be checked. They replied that I didn't know how to put a reed on the mouthpiece (even though I'd told them I've been playing them for over 10 years). They also made other excuses like having to sand the reed...WHAT?

Bottom line: they don't stand behind their product and have a bad batch of reeds out there. Others have also commented on SOTW with the same problem. The reeds have come from different retailers, so it's either a big batch, or possibly a permanent problem. I'm certainly not giving any more $$ to any company that doesn't stand behind their product and don't appreciate being told I don't know how to put a reed on a a mouthpiece. BEWARE and spend your $$ wisely on products that are made by people that have integrity.

I stopped using Fibracell more than 10 years ago. That's when they first turned to shite. I don't know too many people who used them before who continued to use them after.

I can only imagine who bad they are now if they got even worse.

Depending on your MP/horn combo you have a couple really good options. I was using Legere Signature Series on everything exclusively for 10 years now. They are great. However, I recently got a couple of horns for which those reeds don't work. Also, I never was a fan of their baritone reeds.

The Fiberreeds by Harry Hartmann are fantastic. Specifically the ones that I have fallen in love with are the Carbon Onyx. I use the Carbon Onyx on my Couf bari with a Theo Wanne Durga MP, as well as on my Olds Super with a Lakey Apollo MP.