Proper name confusion

I'm the music education editor for GIA Publications, and I'm in the middle of editing Teaching Music through Performance in Band, Volume 8. I'm a musician myself (not just a copy editor) -- a once-upon-a-time alto sax player -- and have run into a problem I cannot solve, even with all the power of the internet.

What's the proper name for a particular member of the clarinet family?

One of the authors of a Teacher Resource Guide refers to a contra-alto clarinet. That didn't sound right to my ears, so I went looking for the correct information.

What I found was three variants that (I think) refer to the same instrument:

1. Contra-alto clarinet
  2. Contralto clarinet
  3. Alto clarinet
Grove's (GIA has the most recent comprehensive set of volumes) doesn't have a separate entry for any of these designations.

The general article on clarinet doesn't make a distinction between the three.

Other music references, including my old favorite, the Harvard, don't help either.

So when I discovered this forum, I knew I had found a group that a) would know, and b) would likely give me a lively, interesting set of opinions to consider.

So, dear soon-to-be-friends:

What's the right name for this instrument?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Peace to all,

Gregg

I'd go for "Contra-Alto" clarinet if it's the bass clarinet next bigger cousin in Eb (between bass and contrabass).
I'd go for "Alto" if it's the bass' little cousin in Eb (an octave higher than the Contra-Alto).
"Contra-Alto" and "Alto" are definitely two different instruments.
"Contralto" refers to a singer's voice IMO, not an instrument.

I agree. Alto clarinet is the alto clarinet in Eb, transposed the same as alto saxophone. Contra-alto is an octave lower, transposed the same as baritone saxophone. The word contra is added the same as for contrabass, but the hyphen is probably there just because contraalto looks strange.