The switch: Bb soprano to Bb bass clarinet.

Cost is the number one obstacle to bass clarinet playing. Iffen you don't have access to a loaner horn, you're stuck with purchasing one. Used horns almost always have issues; new ones (even at the low end) are a significant purchase in most budgets.

No way around it, unless you marry someone who happens to own one...

As mentioned, I've bought a few baritone saxophones in my life, and a couple when I was in high school (I didn't own both at the same time, tho) -- and those are generally more expensive than most bass clarinets. The way I bought my horns was sorta ... accidental: I bought bari #1 relatively inexpensively and with a lot of cash from savings -- I had several different odd jobs. Bari #2 required me to sell bari #1 and a few other horns I had, some of which were just given to me.

My essential reasoning behind buying a bari was that I knew that I was going to go to college for music by the time I was a sophomore and I knew I needed a decent horn for it -- and I knew my mom wasn't financially able to help. Additionally, I was serious enough to want a horn that wasn't junky.

The "given to me" part might require explanation: it you're in music long enough, eventually you'll meet folks that will say something like, "Hey! You play X, don't you? I have one of those in my closet/attic/cellar. You want it?" The horns I got this way were a Pan American metal soprano clarinet, a early 1920's Wurlitzer alto (Conn stencil, IIRC), a Conn stencil C melody, and a Conn New Wonder tenor. The only one that was worth more than the cost of fixing it up was the tenor, but the combination of them = a decent chunk of change.

I was also given, later, some percussion equipment, including a concert bass drum, and a Selmer Centered Tone clarinet, all of which I eventually got repaired and then donated to a worthy cause.