Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

What Kind of mouthpiece

Hi All,

I am new to playing the clarinet. Well new as in I haven't played for 40 years. I just got a buffet R13 used and it came with the Buffet f3a. I've hears references to it being as good as a door stop and I tend to agree.

I always used an O'Brian mouthpiece in the past and will probably purchase a used one of a new Selmer. My problem is in the meantime I have to find out which opening I need to use to get my chops back. The f3a seems to closed for my liking. I remember I used to use a 2 1/2 or 3 reed on the O'Brian.

Can anyone give me an idea of a decent (cheap, less than 20.00) that I can get? I've seen some for 12 dollars and I'm in the mind to buy a medium to large opening so I can see what I really like. I'm sure the small opening is too small for me but i'm not sure. It could be that if the f3a is a small opening maybe that is what I don't like about it.

I was, in the past a strong player. Lot's of wind available. But 40 years later who knows eh? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I should add, does anyone have any experience comparing the O'Brian to the Selmer Crystal mouthpiece

Thanks,
Steve

Last edited:
Not exactly in the 20$ range, but very close - contact Brad Behn about one of his Ouverture mouthpieces, tell him about your woodwind background and he'll ship one with a suitable facing.
Another option would be Fobes Debut or Hite Premiere. Plus a Mitchell Lurie Hard Rubber M2 for ~30$.

These are my budget hints. I play all of them. All are under 40$.

I'm going to look at them tonight

Not exactly in the 20$ range, but very close - contact Brad Behn about one of his Ouverture mouthpieces, tell him about your woodwind background and he'll ship one with a suitable facing.
Another option would be Fobes Debut or Hite Premiere. Plus a Mitchell Lurie Hard Rubber M2 for ~30$.

These are my budget hints. I play all of them. All are under 40$.