Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Woodwind Diversity, etc

Again to follow up with my curious nature, I've been noticing by buzzing around different discussion sites in regards to woodwind, both professional and amateur, and I'm very pleased to see the large amount of "doubling" players, given the fact that I'm very new to the internet and have been living in extremely secluded situations (what is this face book thing I keep hearing about? And this "I pod?" Electronic peas, I presume?) with little access to how great the world of woodwinds has been growing behind my naive back.

Down to the point and question, what is the main benefit of your doubling and why did you decide to start?
I do not perform professionally however I started doubling, tripling, quadrupling, etc, from addiction and desperation for something to do after work every day. When asked if I have kids, I say their names (first and middle) first. Clarie Net, O'boeman, Tarry Gata, and Ryan the contrabass.

Facebook is an internet social site
www.Facebook.com

an iPod is a product from apple that originally was a MP3 player, now it's alot more. It also evolved into a phone, the iPhone.
http://www.apple.com/ipod/

I'm not quite sure when I first "doubled" .. Piano was first, so I guess saxophone was my first double, then clarinet. But I was much more proficient on sax and clarinet, so I guess that is my first double. I picked up clarinet because I loved the range and tone of it some 33 years ago.

You can make a tidy side income...

..by serving as a theater musician for local theatres. (Note artsy spelling of term.) Most of the "books" (the printed or manuscript part) for the woodwind players are set up with some combination of sax, clarinet/bass clarinet/flute and (all too frequently) a double reed or two.