Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

A Discussion About YAGE

Could you clarify for me, did Tammi voluntarily have herself Martysaxed here?
For those of you who don't know, "martysax" is a poster on SOTW that has been temp banned repeatedly, generally for posting something he really shouldn't. I actually coined the term "martysaxed" for people that got temp banned for something they said -- and the term stuck. (I hope to be up there with the folks that coined "LOL".)

FWIW, I again mention that a) martysax came aboard SOTW after I left the Admin team and b) all bans were approved by Harri, SOTW's owner, when I was an Admin.

That is very clear and straight forward. She asked, "Can anyone recommend a good clarinet naming the model and price?" She even gave her level of experience and what clarinet she is currently playing on. Then the third degree began. At that point the "probative questions" were unnecessary and uncalled for. A serious student wants to move up to a better clarinet, period. Her teacher's instrument or competence or her parent's interest and commitment are totally irrelevant to the original question. That is the way I view the unfortunate exchange. Let's help young people who come to the forum not discourage them and turn them away.
I hear you, John...however my experience in the field of "upgrading" taught me to ask stupid questions.

If someone came and said "my computer is slow, I want a new one", I try to pinpoint the cause for this impression, and sometimes it is indeed time for a new one, and sometimes all it takes is reformatting and reinstalling the operating system (comparable to a tech-going-over-an-instrument).

I'd be a lousy salesperson, I know, but I usually take my "customers" seriously enough to offer a bit of my time and help them find out what's the right thing to do.