Acoustic Shields

Hi all

Our community wind band are looking at the necessity and economic viability of buying acoustic shields. They would mainly be for our flute section sitting in front of the trumpets, and the bass clari and bassoon and others in front of the trombones (so to protect the ears of those in front of forward facing brass bells).

Part of me thinks that we should have done this a long time ago, and that we must do it now having considered it. Part of me thinks a band gets noisy, live with it - they are expensive and bulky and can look intrusive. [OK - I want to offer a balanced view to start the discussion, I actually think we should use them - I'm a doctor, after all!]

What I am interested in is how widely they are used in your settings, and what factors were taken account of in your decision to use or not use them.

Chris

I've only used them with drum kits, never with anything else. All the reasons you put against them are the reasons why I've never used them. They also don't seem to help much. Why are your flutes in front of the trumpets anyway?

I play in a bagpipe band and we use earplugs. We don't have volume control, and a pipe band sits somewhere between 115 and 130 decibels. *That's REALLY loud*. Tell the trumpets and trombones to dip the bells down. Usually the problem is getting them to get their bells high enough.

If they have a problem with their ears, tell them to get earplugs. If they whine and say "I won't be able to hear myself play", tell them to get over it.

I use these both in my pipe band as well as the big band *I'm in the bari chair in front of a bass trombone with a fog horn fetish*
http://www.carolinacelt.com/catalog...d=870&osCsid=f159b949465138e7391f5c2cff22412a