Band in a Box/Soundcards

jbtsax

Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Not sure where to post this. I am toying with the idea of approaching a new restaurant in town that has a nice dining area downstairs to play "dinner music" on weekends as a single or perhaps a duo with a jazz guitarist and sound tracks for the bass and drums.

My ideal is to set up a playlist of accompaniments to ballads, bossa novas, and soft rock tunes using Band in a Box to accompany myself playing with my best Stan Getz and Paul Desmond "background" sounds.

The set-up I currently have on my computer is Sound Blaster Live and the version of BiaB is 10.0. My question is what can I do to get better quality sounds for the rhythm section instruments in the accompaniment tracks that I write? I am ashamed to admit I have very little experience in this area of music and electronics. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

John

My question is what can I do to get better quality sounds for the rhythm section instruments in the accompaniment tracks that I write?
Bring a friend with a Cajón. He/she wouldn't even need a chair to sit on.
And live is so much better than synthesised.

I'd use a dedicated sound module - Roland JV-1010 or better - which will give you more/better sounds, reverb and effects, performance set-ups, etc.

Buy the realtrack sets. They are quite convincing.

Buy the realtrack sets. They are quite convincing.
If they're available, I'd go for this option. I don't have a problem with BIAB, per se, it's just that it can sound very mechanical.

Thanks Hakukani. That is the way I think I will go. It sounds great.

John

I made this on BIAB with realtracks to shed ii-V's. It took about ten minutes to make, then I rendered it to an mp3 in order to show what the potential is.

http://www.box.net/shared/hak81erruh