Bari Sax Improvement

Hi guys,

I have been playing the alto for 8 years now, and recently switched to bari sax (marching season). Luckily, I didn't need to have any really skill on the bari to play marching music, but moving into concert season, that changes.

I desperately need to build some control over the bari. I have two main problems:

1. Octave Key Slurred Intervals: especially C to D in the middle range. It takes a second before the note comes out. I had the same problem the first two years of playing the alto, but I can't wait two years to fix this. How do I fix these transitions?

2. Dynamic Range: On the bari, I of course need to use more air. When I use more air, it ends up being really loud, which is good for marching season. I need to learn to use more air slowly. What is the best way to build this skill?

Hi there JCINMA. First of all let me say "Welcome" to the Woodwind Forum.

What you're describing is very common. This passage from C to D2 is often called "going over the break" or something along those lines. Bari saxes are not very forgiving, and any weaknesses in your breathing technique will show up. That particular place (C to D2 transitions) is where it will show up the most obviously.

The first question I always start with is: Is the horn in good repair? Does it have any leaks? The bigger the horn, the more prone to leaking they are, and the harder the leaks are to compensate for. As you become a better player on said horn, you can compensate for the leaks, but in the beginning, having a horn in good repair is really important.

Next, to work on gaining control of the baritone, what you'll have to do is practice long tones. I have an exercise on my website called Pivot Around Middle C that I have used with my students for years. If done the way it is described on the sheet, and practiced faithfully everyday, it will help you gain control.