Fun With iPad!

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
If you don't read the business section in your newspaper, you might not have heard that Apple has launched a new iPad and iPad mini. Considering I'm a computer tech and I work with computer techs, we watched the "keynote" ("product launch") live.

A few notes:

* The iPad 4 does have some things over the iPad 3: it's faster and has a bit better camera. In the world of techie, we call this a "speedbump": faster, but no new functionality. However, what this also means is that the iPad 3 is now $120 cheaper. I'll talk more about that in a moment.

* The iPad mini is essentially an iPad 2, only smaller and with a better screen. If you'd like something that's more "book" sized (7.9" screen) and aren't worried about speed, it's not bad. However, my techie friends and I were shocked at the price: $329 for the "introductory" model. We were guessing what the price would be and this is $30 more than the highest guess.

As mentioned elsewhere, I own two iPad 1s. I've been wanting an upgrade in hardware because the current version of the iPad operating system ("iOS") does not work on the original iPad -- and the highest version that does is a little crashtastic.

The iPad 3 "refurbished" 16gb WiFi is now available directly from Apple for $379. That's $120 off list and also cheaper than most buy-it-now eBay ads. I can sell my iPad 16gb for about $250-275, get the iPad 3 and get 6 months same-as-cash. I also might be able to get a discount through the company I work for. Kewl.

Hey, if you wanna buy a nice original iPad with a snazzy Bluetooth keyboard/case, gimmee a yell ....

I use the iPad 1 64gig with the FORSCORE app great for reading music as PDFs and linking with my backing tracks. Can also turn the page

Well, as mentioned elsewhere, I sold my original iPad 32gb. That means that I went and bought a refurbished iPad 3 32gb. The only thing I didn't like: I had to pay tax on it.