Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Hello, which Bass Clarinet should I get?

Hello, I'm completely new to the Clarinet and decided to give the Bass Clarinet a try. I'm mostly a trumpet player and would like to know which Bass Clarinet brand I should buy online. I've seen brands like Noblet, Selmer, Vito(although some people said to stay away from these) ect. What can I get within the 1000 dollar range or less that is decent or maybe an older vintage pro model might do?

What are the things I should ask about/check for when buying used Bass Clarinets online?

Which Bass Clarinet brand would you recommend to me?

Also which should I pick? The ones that pitch to Eb or Bb? I don't really understand becuase some people say that some Bass Clarinets have an extra attachment area on the bottom to allow the player to hit a few lower notes.

I'd reccomend checking it out in person to see if it has any cracks or excessive key wear, but you might not be able to as you mention buying it on the internet.
Those brands all can be fairly good, though I'll add that the Selmer being a Paris-built horn would be very much a plus in both build quality and generally how it plays.
Probably the only things you can get within the 1000 dollar range wouldn't be a pro level bass unless you get rather lucky, so the cheaper basses I would reccomend out of those would be a Noblet followed by the Vito then the presumably USA-built Selmer. (again, unless that Selmer is a Selmer Paris, all of which typically are very nice horns, I'd reccomend them over the other two you mentioned.)
Those brands are good, as are some others (IE Buffet, Yamaha, or Uebel.)
Almost all Bass Clarinets are in Bb, the ones saying Eb are either meant to refer to being keyed to low Eb or are an Alto Clarinet (which is a lot less used in an ensemble.)
And yes, some basses have an extension to low C instead of Eb, (or E, rarely.) though they're going to cost noticeably more.