I got another Patricola

Hi All,

Well, I did it again. I went and bought a Patricola CL2 Virtuoso in Rosewood. If you remember I bought one over a year ago and then sent it back. Well the time (and fortunatly the money) came that I wanted a new instrument. I've been playing my R13 since I started playing again about 2 years ago and was about to purchase a new R13.

I spent hours in a music store trying new ones. I loved the way the new R13's played. I also tried a Selmer and Yamaha (I don't remember the models but they were in the same class as the R13). Before I purchased it I decided to try the Patricola again. So, I looked up prices on the web and ordered it. It came today and it's an incredible instrument.

I bought it in Rosewood. It plays so nice. The sound is rich or deep (depending on which barrel you use) and the action is really fast. I'm kind of happy that I didn't keep the first one. I needed to get my chops up before I bought a brand new one and now I did and I'm thrilled.

If any of you are going to purchase a new Clarinet I'd recommend you try the Patricola first. THe place I bought it from ( and most places on the web) gives me 45 day return policy so if you wanted to try it before purchasing buy it through one of these stores.

More to come in other posts about what I've been doing for the last year.

Steve

The New Patricola

How did the price compare to the other instruments? Was it all about the sound for you, or did you also consider the inherent intonation a key factor in the selection of a new instrument?

When I had the last Patricola that I sent back I checked all the tonality with a tuner and it was right on so I had no reservations in ordering another. Again, I went through all the notes with a tuner both with my R13 and the Patricola and they were both the same (give or take a cent and depending on my mouth at that moment :))