Intermediate?

Hi, I've been playing clarinet för six years. Two years ago I quit it, I got bored of always playing the book and never improvise and seldom learning technics. I started playing again recently.

I have a Excella wood clarinet, a Yamaha mouth piece+ligature and Vandoren V12 3,5 strength reeds. The clarinett is very old and the keys are kind of hard to press.

What is a good clarinet for a intermediate player?
What books are good for learning technics?
I have heard that the V12's are great reeds but needs adjusting. How do I adjust them?

Dansband,

First, welcome to the Woodwind forum. :-D

Personally, I've never heard of an Excella brand clarinet. But, either way, you want to have clarinet in good repair. A clarinet that has problems just makes it that much tougher to learn how to play as one is always fighting the instrument.

Nowadays there are a lot of playalong books out there. they come with a CD which you can put into a MP3 playable boombox, computer, etc and then you can playalong. This makes parts of learning much more enjoyable then simply bashing ones head against technique books.

Good clarinets for intermediate players are easy to find. brand new intermediate clarinets from Yamaha, Selmer USA, Leblanc Bliss and Buffet (jsut naming a few makers out there).

Going used or vintage the list grows tremendously.

pete, our Admin here, has put together a list of clarinets which may answer your question a bit more .. go to this link
http://www.woodwindforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2792

Once again, welcome to the board.

Dansband: In September, I stopped at Kessler's Music in Las Vegas enroute home from the U.S. Air Force Academy. Chuck Kessler showed me a couple of intermediate clarinets he was selling for around $1000.00. One was a Buffet and the other was a LeBlanc (but don't hold me to that brand - my memory failed me on that one).