iPad Air & Apps

saxhound

Staff member
CE/Moderator
I bought the new iPad Air for my better half for Xmas. It's pretty "kewl" as Pete would say, and the display is stunning. I'm fairly new to the Apple world of apps, despite carrying an iPhone 4S around for the past year and a half. I just don't do much there but e-mail and phone, although I did download ClearTune and a metronome app as well as the free flashlight app. So, a couple questions for all you techno nerds out there:

1. What are some indispensable apps for everyday use? I'm thinking things like creating and managing docs, taking notes freehand with a stylus, tracking & reminders, etc.
2. Any "must have" music apps? Keep in mind that this is my wife's machine, so I probably won't be taking it to gigs, just messing around with it when she is not using it.
3. How can I block all the annoying ads, popups and auto-plays that are on nearly every web page nowadays?

I use Firefox with Adblock Plus on my Windows machines, so I guess I am spoiled by that. It blocks 99.9% of that carp without me even knowing it. Browsing on Safari to some of my favorite web sites was a rude awakening to see how much stuff is really there and launching automatically - often with no way to stop it except to kill the browser. I did a search and found something called Adblock for Safari IOS, but there was a lot of mumbo jumbo about having to jailbreak your device to get it to install, and even then it wasn't particularly effective.

Happy New Year to all.

I use Chrome for a browser, and it cleans out most of the ad stuff. Nothing is perfect, mind you.

I have a wonderful fingering chart for the bassoon, without which I would be lost. Bassoon fingerings are too complicated for this old man to remember these days.