Lip Injury Prevention?

As a music student, I'm constantly bombarded with directions to change how I hold and use instruments. As a result of these changes, I feel that I'm even more susceptible to injuries now than ever before. Recently, my inner-lower lip callus has been giving me a lot of trouble. It hurts to play even at times, with the majority of the discomfort coming as soon as the horn leaves my mouth and my lips go back to their resting state.
This has happened a few times before, and after not playing at all for a few days my lip was able to heal just enough for me to reapply pressure to it. I feel like the aspects of my practice that are the most crucial are causing possible long term damage to the tissue in my mouth.
Have people ever bitten through their entire lip?
Advice on preserving my chops?
Ideas on why this is happening?
Quick fixes?

Back in High School .. just a couple years ago, I used to practice probably 3-4 hours a day (saxophone mainly) .. Monday thru Friday.
Back then before I started having a private teacher I would bite ALOT.
So much so that my lower teeth actually did cut through the skin and at times I would bleed.
With the private teacher she taught me alot about the looseness of the embouchure. At times she would flick the neck away while I was playing to make sure I wasn't biting. I then was able to readjust my embouchure for upwards pressure of the mpc to the upper teeth (saxophone).

On clarinet I also at times would bite too. But with clarinet it became more obvious that the embouchure itself was different. You need to push your lip out towards the mpc and not up - amongst those teaching that embouchure. This required more jaw movement outwards, which is weird at first. But it also eliminated alot of the effects of biting too, and opened the throat, put the lower lip at a better position on the mpc which allowed it to play better, etc etc etc ..