Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

New Here and looking for advice for a piece I'm practicing.

First of all My name is Ivan aka pedra573, and I am looking for some advice on a piece I'm practicing. A little background about me, I used to play Clarinet al through Jr High and High School but have only recently begun practicing consistently since I graduated in 2007. Now that I have some more time on my hands I want to play music again. To make a long story short the piece involves a solo with the second high G above the staff. The notes are pretty much lead up to that high G which I can barley sustain for more than a second. It pretty much goes Bflat C D Eflat F the G back to E Sustain then F and again G Eflat D Bflat. I have the music. In addition whenever I hear the recording I'm having a hard time matching the style of the player in the group, I'm just not sure what he is doing to make those high notes sound the way they do.

Also Keep in mind that this is a Mexican Norteña Band called Banda MS and the song is called "No me Pidas Perdon"

Here is the album recording of the song posted to youtube. With the Solo starting at 2:14 - 2:18.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyjqdM5Nzns

In addition here is another one where the soloist plays but in a live performance though he sounds a little out of tune. Solo also at 2:14 - 2:18.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szG3dFignW4

If you guys have any advice to achieve a good sound in that range I'm all ears I realize they some of you have much more experience than I do and unfortunately I don't know anyone personally who plays clarinet. As far as me playing the solo I can achieve a tuned note on everything up until the F where is gets so so, and am having a terribly hard time with the G.

No, like I said I've only recently been coming back to practicing after a substantial hiatus. Pretty much since 2007, is the last time i seriously picked up the clarinet.