Not really sure my clarinet is working properly

After so many years of not playing it is hard to know if my horn is working. Sometimes I seem to have to blow pretty hard to make it play. That could be the new reed, though it's a Vandoren 2 1/2 with an hour of playing on it now. The clarinet seems inconsistent. Sometimes, right about middle C, I think it sounds good and plays easy. Yet it sounds wispy an octave lower. It doesn't not play, or squeak uncontrollably anywhere. I don't recall having any of these issues when I played years ago.

Of course, my embouchure is gone, my clarinet has sat unused for years, and I have a new reed on it.

I tested each part for air leaks, seems ok.

So, short of taking this to a tech and asking them to fiddle with it, is there any sort of diagnostic process I can go through?

I used to do phone support. While I'm a computer tech, there's a very basic test for doing phone support:

Describe to me how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Assume I haven't a clue about ANYTHING.

This exercise also allows you to empathize with help desks everywhere. Hey, I bet the first thing you're thinking would be, "What moron doesn't know how to make PB&J?" You'd be surprised at how many morons are out there.

"No! I said scoop the jelly into the CONCAVE side of the spoon, not the convex!"
"Dude. If you drop the bread on the floor again, I'm going to have to hang up."
"So, it has a plastic fastener on the bread package and not a twist-tie? Hang on. Let me get you to level 8 support!"

You think that's bad? I tried to keep my mother's email connection and computer programs working over the telephone through her initial stages of Altzheimer's Disease.