Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Transposing from Alto Clef Barisax part to Treble Clef Bass Clarinet Part

Hi everyone

I play the bass clarinet in a saxophone quartet as an honorary Bari Sax, always playing below the break and providing the bass line. I am self taught and can just about convert a treble clef bari sax part to bass clarinet writing the notes below the bari's notes or using Muse Score to rewrite the part.

I now have a part which is just minims which is a Bari Sax part written in what I believe is Alto Clef. Having done lots of looking about the internet I am still at a loss as how to turn the notes into Bass Clarinet Treble Clef.

Would anybody be kind enough to look at the attached photo of the notes I am being asked to play and convert them to something that will fit with the music? An explanation would also be very useful so I can do it myself in the future however I understand that might be too much to ask.

I would really appreciate any help as would the quartet so I don't mess up the playing and just play random low G's hoping to get away with it! I do hope the photo opens as I wouldn't know where to begin to explain what I need.

Big thank yous

Hilary

Attachments

• Transpose to Bass Clarinet Treble Clef.jpg
    Transpose to Bass Clarinet Treble Clef.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 400
That's a baritone clef. The top line is concert middle C.

Hi Carl

Thank you for this and please excuse my very amateur abilities at transposing with my next questions.

Does that mean that I would read the note on the top line as a Bari Sax B Flat?

Or to really help me make sense of it all what note would I play on my Bass Clarinet if there is a note on the top line?

Thank you