Vintage or New Saxophones

I prefer . . .

• Total voters
Re: Poll: Vintage or New Saxophones

Now this is a poll with no bottom.

I'd prefer to play a modern pro-level horn. I prefer to look at a vintage horn. Exception possibly being, oh, the pink gold or sterling Yanis and the titanium SX90's.

Where's that choice, Ed?

Wait. I'm an admin. I could add choices. Abuse of power, here we come!

I'm more of a vintage horn person I suppose. My main horns are all vintage with the exception of my R&C R1 soprano. It reminds me of some of the great vintage sopranos I've played though.

I must be one of those "dinosaurs" who has a hard time adapting to change.

Now without launching into the "is the Mark VI really a vintage horn" debate...

My first pro horn was a 198XXX Mk VI (circa '72) tenor that I got used in 1981 while in grade 12. It is still my favorite horn. I have tried lots of newer tenors, but I always go back to my VI. I have also played a lot of other VIs, many of them the 5-digit horns that people rave about, but mine seems to win out everytime. I understand that to some degree it is an issue of familiarity, but mine also happens to be one of those killer VIs out there.

Over the years I have gotten more and more vintage horns. (My oldest was made in 1922.) As much as the ergonomics leave a lot to be desired, I really prefer the sound they produce compared to their contemporaries. For me, there is a complexity in the sound of vintage horns that is lacking in more modern versions. I realize that this is rather subjective, and that the general audience wouldn't pick up the tonal differences between a Mark VI and a Bundy, but for the work I do, the horns I have seem to fit the bill really well.

I got my first new horn a few years ago when I bought a B&S Medusa bari. As much as I like the sound, I find it to be a totally different animal to anything else that I own. I like it, but to me, the sound of the vintage horns wins out everytime.