Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Where to find mezzo soprano sax reeds?

As I mentioned in the New Member with Clarinet/Saxophone thread, I have a Conn mezzo soprano saxophone. I was inspired by reading the True Tone Alto thread to seek reed suggestions, and here's why:

I inherited the horn with two mouthpieces: the original mouthpiece and an alto sax mouthpiece, which someone lined the inside of with cork (?) so that it would fit on the smaller neck. I assume this was done because of the lack of availability of reeds to fit the mezzo soprano mouthpiece.

I read through some old threads on this forum, and checked a few of the online vendors (i.e. discount reed, 1stopclarinet, usareeds) with no luck.

Short of making my own reeds, which I have zero experience doing, does anyone know where I could find reeds to go with the original mouthpiece? I'd love to try the original setup.

Thanks!

I don't have a clue to what size mouthpiece is appropriate to your F-mezzo. I've only seen and heard one of these horns before - and that was a while back. But I know that some horns can be effectively (and well) played with other size mouthpieces (e.g., alto or tenor pieces on a C-Mel).

If you are able to do so, it may be worth your time to take your horn (or at least the neck) to a large music store with a wide selection of soprano and alto mouthpieces and try all of them on your neck. Mouthpieces vary as to the inner diameter of the barrel. You may stumble across some that will fit your neck. Otherwise, you could re-cork-to-fit.

Does the alto saxophone piece fit your F-mezzo (your description wasn't clear to me)?

When you place your F-mezzo's stock piece (assuming that what you have is a stock piece - those things can be iffy if someone before you switched mouthpieces) next to the known alto piece, what are the size differences?

How does an alto reed fit when placed against the F-mezzo's mouthpiece table? Is it way too big . . . or . . .?