Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

Yanagisawa Pages

Nice work Ed.

I've always enjoyed the Yanagiswa horn's I've had. It started back in the mid to late 70's when I got a great playing tenor in Junior High. I'm not sure which model it was but it had that case with the bright orange interior.

I haven't seen one with a bright orange interior. I think I've seen some gold color. If it was the 70's it was more than likely the 6 series. One of the best tenors I have ever played was a T-6. I couldn't believe how great that horn was.

From the pictures I've seen, I'm pretty sure it was a T-6 model. It was a great horn that I stupidly sold when I moved to CA nearly 20 years ago.

I've been playing a T-901 for the last 5-6 years and added a bronze neck to it a couple of years ago. Serves me well!

Thanks for the heads up on that.

I've download the photos.

I love Yani's and personally believe they are the finest sopranos made period IMO. I started playing soprano back in 77 and an S6 straight was my first. Sounded like a Mk VI but with superior intonation. Since, I've owned a silver 62R, Series III, and now play a standard 901 Yani which I truly feel is the best one-piece soprano made, regardless of price and perhaps the best soprano I've ever played. Yani's mechanics are incredible. You can't go wrong with any of the Yani line. I love the sound of Selmer when it comes to tenors and altos, but when it comes to soprano's, Yani lead the pack. Again, just my personal experience. You're mileage may vary.

Hi folks!
I've just received my new sop, it's a vintage yani sn 158XXX
I came to this becouse I was searching for a sop with mk6 tone/feel/and construction... I'm coming from a yamaha 675.
I feel to to have made the right choice, It plays so well in tune with a great and "organic" tone I'm so happy with it!

setup:
mpc selmer metal E vintage '60
java 3,5#

sample: http://www.gospel.bo.it/albums/userpics/10678/prova_sop_s6.mp3