You think your GAS is bad ....

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
"GAS" is an acronym for "Gear Acquisition Syndrome". One dealer (in)famously made the point that saxophone players are afflicted with it worse than anyone else because we're insane and have a little change in our pockets.

Well, I'm a former saxophone player. I've owned ... four ... baritone saxophones (c'mon, the most expensive was only $1800 and I didn't own them all at the same time).

Anyhow, I have another hobby that lends itself towards GAS: I'm a computer tech. I must have new techie goodies. Well, I'm generally pretty good about this and I don't buy a new computer until there's something twice as fast as what I currently have on the market. Hey, I haven't replaced my trackball in 5 years. Although, I did have to get that 22" Viewsonic 1080p flat panel to go with my other 22" monitor. C'mon: it was on sale! This one's HD!

Anyhow, my wife just found a new kind of GAS: dogs.

The story: a couple years back, the wife said she wanted to have either a second child or a second dog. My choice. I easily chose the dog. (Un)fortunately, I had some major health issues that made getting another animal a little taxing.

Then my wife had to go out to MI a couple weeks ago.

She "happens" to have a friend that's a dog breeder. This friend just "happens" to be in MI. And my 6-year-old also "happens" to be out there with my wife. I'se tells you: it's a set-up!

So, I'll be getting a puppy, via air. This "puppy" is a 15-week old purebred Bloodhound that currently weighs 30lbs and is expected to weigh 85lbs when fully grown. My current dog is a 65lb, 10-year-old mutt who looks like the world's largest Schnauzer. I spent $87 on dog food, today. Then the puppy is going to go for obedience/service dog training. Here, I thought that sending a couple kids to college might be expensive.

Well, the dog might go on the dog show circuit That'd hopefully recoup some cash.