Untitled Document

Advertisement Click to advertise with us!

What is your Clarinet setup ?

Ya. I'm jealous, I want more instruments!!! I could just quit music school HAHA ... that would give me an "extra" 15-20K per year.

My main clarinet is a Selmer Signature. Currently I'm enjoying a Portnoy 3, Bonade or Rovner lig, and either Vandoren trad. 3.5's or V16 3's.

I have 10 other soprano clarinets in Albert and Boehm systems that I doodle around with from time to time.

I'm new to this site and new to playing the clarinet however my current clarinet is a Buffet E-11 which I bought new and simply love it.:-D

Clarinetfellow: Welcome aboard.

The original question was about your set-up . . . meaning, what mouthpiece, ligature, and reed do you use? Maybe more importantly . . . why? You may want to tell us your skill-level and what type of music you play with your Buffet.

For example, I've been playing for 50 years - mostly soprano saxophone. But my clarinet is a Buffet RC Prestige (backed up by an R-13, a Silver-King, and a couple of Albert Systems - Conn and Buescher). I use a Vandoren 66 mouthpiece with a soft Fibracell reed and usually a metal two-screw ligature. I play exclusively traditional (New Orleans style) jazz. DAVE

In the clarinet case for concert band: Ridenour Lyrique, Morgan RM15, Gonzalez FOF 2.75.
In the alto sax claripack case for big band: Leblanc Classic II, Morgan and Gonzalez. Ligs are Bonade and Luyben.

Note: this does not indicate that I think the Leblanc is better for big band. It means I am too lazy to move clarinets from case to case, and I find both clarinets a pleasure to play.

Last edited:
My setup has changed quite a bit since I posted it over a year ago. Now I'm playing the same R13 with a Backun Fatboy barrel, Backun bell, Grabner K13 mouthpiece, BG lig, Vandoren V12 3.5, and a Ton Kooiman thumb rest. All of the changes have been positive in their own way and I've never been happier with my clarinet playing.