Do it yourself leaklight

I made the following page for a clinic I am doing in February on repair tips and techniques for band directors. I thought that some of the readers of this forum might be interested. They are very easy to make although the plan requires some basic electrical soldering skills.

http://jbtsaxmusic.homestead.com/Leaklight.html

Interesting...however, as a former electrician, I am somewhat uneasy when I see the combination of high-voltage gear (the ballast unit) combined with low-voltage gear (phone outlet), without clear markings and without a fuse anywhere in between. One's operating near metal gear with this contraption, and the use of a FI circuit breaker is strongly advised.

I'd probably take a fluorescent lantern and simply attach the fl tube with some cables.
10015.jpg

Or I'd abuse an LED table lamp.

Edit: Forgot to say that your instructions with pictures are clear and concise - very well made!

what's wrong with getting some LED rope lights and using that? works just fine for me... Not small enough for flutes and clarinets, but how many band directors can adequately repair flutes and clarinets? You can always just find smaller diameter rope lights, but if you go to WalMart or Target or whatever the week after Christmas they're dirt cheap

what's wrong with getting some LED rope lights and using that? works just fine for me... Not small enough for flutes and clarinets, but how many band directors can adequately repair flutes and clarinets? You can always just find smaller diameter rope lights, but if you go to WalMart or Target or whatever the week after Christmas they're dirt cheap