For teachers: what's your load?

September is coming on like a runaway train! If you're a teacher, what's the gig and how's your load?

I've got 12hrs/week this coming semester, divided between an upper level course on Shakespeare, a bridge course for students just entering university, and an ESL course I teach for foreign students.

Rory

I'm not a 'real' teacher, but I hope that I get more than 1 private student this year.

I've gone from having 12 students my first year to 1 last year. But when the ecomony is in the dumper, extras like private instruction are the first things to be cut from the budget.

ATM I have one student. I am not looking for students, and have been turning down everybody who asks, but this was a special case. So I have one student - no charge.

I miss the students, but I don't miss the time and scheduling chaos involved with teaching and gigging.

Back in the last century, when I was actively professoring for a living (at a "comprehensive" state university), our load in the social sciences averaged some 12 hours per semester. Specific courses ranged from Freshman through Graduate level, dependent both on established curriculum as well as student demand.

I was not employed in the Music Department – so there were no lessons/studio hours – but I am now taking classes in music, at the same university, and find myself somewhat in awe of the dedicated faculty! These folks have at least a 12 hour load, plus lessons, plus ensembles/performances, plus having to deal with a variety of "non-traditional" students (including the occasional geezer, such as yours truly, just getting started in music) and still seem to retain some level of sanity.

(By the way, I personally find that I'm spending more time on campus now, as a music student, than I ever did when I was teaching – and having a lot more fun too.)