I Love It. I Hate It. I Love It ...

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
I have an issue on my website's gallery. Take a peek. You might not be able to immediately spot it. It's actually the lack of something.

Across the top of the page, there are page numbers. That's great. Unfortunately, it's a tad difficult to remember if I've got Orsi on page 4 or 5. I therefore wanted to add a menu bar to the top of the page.

I played around with framesets for about an hour or so (a frameset is simply a way of displaying two or more webpages on a single page). I didn't like how it looked, so I decided to tackle the actual code of the gallery software I use.

Gallery 3 uses PHP for just about everything. I'm not a PHP coder, but I've been able to do simple things like put a little banner on a page. I've done that here a few times and it was pretty darn simple. So I tried with Gallery 3. And failed. Repeatedly.

On each fail, I went back to the documentation for Gallery 3. Unfortunately, some of the examples on how to do what I was doing were on websites that no longer exist. That meant trying to make up a bunch of stuff on the fly. I wasn't very successful at that. I then tried going over the documentation for the Gallery 3 theme (read: the bits of code that make everything look the way it does) I was using and that didn't help. *Sigh*

2 and 1/2 hours later, I was just about to give up and start using another gallery software when I randomly clicked on a link on the support website. It was a once sentence answer and told me EXACTLY where to enter the code I wanted. And it's easy.

So, I love Gallery 3 again. However, I've threatened it with Piwigo, so it had better behave. :emoji_rage:

(Oh. I'm going to try a couple of formats for listing all the makes and models on my website. It'll take a bit.)

I just love it. I need to come back when I have more time and peruse the splendid offerings.