Please tell me about wooden clarinets.

Why do so many people insist that wooden clarinets sound better than plastic ones? I am a complete newbie to woodwinds in general and I do not even know what "proper intonation" is, so I have more or less put the question aside until I can get good enough to actually hear the differences that some people pay through the nose to get. But, I am curious, and besides that, I've just bought two wooden clarinets. My next question is, how often does a wooden clarinet need to have it's bore oiled? I understand that sweet almond oil is one of the preferred oils to use, but is it something that is done by the musician as normal maintenance or must it be taken to a technician? Do you oil the inside and the outside or just the bore? Lastly, what, if anything do you use on the outside to preserve and/or clean the wood? Is there a wax or a preservative that will clean and protect the exterior wood?

A lot of clarinetists insist that wood sounds better. I believe the sound depends on the design and care of manufacture. And, of course, the player.

There have been exemplar clarinet players (Lazarus, for one) who insisted that their synthetic body (ebonite, in his case - a mixture of rubber, sulphur, carbon black and elemental lead) clarinets were superior to any others that they had played. So, you are not alone in your opinion, and there is some weight behind it as well.

I strongly suspect that the quality of manufacture is a more significant factor, and that the wooden clarinets have more attention paid to all factors during the course of their fabrication, mostly because it is expected of a professional quality instrument. Push comes to shove, the wooden body only make up a small (mind you, significant, but still small) portion of the price of the finished instrument. Labor accounts for most of the price of what you end up buying.