Subbing Sucks

Gandalfe

Striving to play the changes in a melodic way.
Staff member
Administrator
<Hobbyist alert. I'm not a pro but I play one on TV.> :emoji_rolling_eyes:

Subbing has never been one of my favorite things to do. Especially if there's no practice and you just show up and hope the music is there. We had three subs at the last Dissonance gig. We had two 2 hour practices and still the experience at the gig wasn't very satisfying. I think I'll quit taking gigs on Labor Day as my fav guys always head off with their families to parts unknown and we are left with subs.

Suzy subbed for a theater pit crew last year. She was called upon to solo on clarinet and sax. It was a very stressful position to be in. The group loved her, but she refuses to do it anymore.

What do y'all do?

I've always looked at subbing as an opportunity and a challenge to perform at my very best. It's a chance to extend your networking system, and you often have to work outside of your comfort zone.

And, push comes to shove, you can always say no...

I barely have time to keep my head above water these days. One group is enough. I actually have a half way challenging part on Bari with Rhapsody in Blue for a concert around election time. I'll get the other half of music next week.

I wish I had more time to play with other folks but the other groups I've been asked to sit in with practice on a night when I have other stuff going on.

I think I've mentioned this elsewhere, but I'll repost because it's germane to this topic.

When I worked at a church as the assistant to the director, one of my jobs was to play any part that wasn't covered on various saxes or clarinets. This could mean that I'd be covering the bass clarinet part because the bass clarinetist was on vacation or that I'm playing the 3rd trumpet part on a Bb clarinet because he was sick and couldn't make it.

We played for six services a week. Every week.