The Saga of Pete

pete

Brassica Oleracea
Staff member
Administrator
This might not be the one and only discussion area for this, but it's good enough. Let me share my journey in the musical world.

I started playing clarinet in the 5th grade, or so. I initially wanted to play trombone, but I failed the rather stupid test for it: the instructor gave me a mouthpiece -- no instruction, mind you -- and asked me if I could make a noise. I couldn't, but could on the clarinet.

From that point on, I began a love/hate relationship with the clarinet, which switched back to "love" in about the 8th grade, when I found out a different mouthpiece made playing easier :emoji_astonished:.

At the start of 9th grade, I found out that the HS band had 25 clarinet players. I asked to switch to bass clarinet. I did this for a couple months, until I was asked to switch to bari sax. Additionally, at that time I got my first paying job: assistant to the director at my church. This job eventually became two part: a) computer work, from transcription to fixing computers and b) playing whatever part wasn't covered on one of my various instruments.

This position not only allowed me to get fairly skilled on a variety of things (including MIDI and electronic instruments), it also allowed me to play in a variety of different groups (jazz, small ensemble, etc.) and with some very interesting studio and pro musicians, most of whom you wouldn't know, so I won't belabor that point.

I also started singing. I was told I sucked. That's ok, though: from about age 12, I was a bass. They needed basses, even those that couldn't sing.