Advice please!

Hi

I'm a beginner at clarinet, and bought a Lark clarinet 2nd hand. It was OK to see whether I was going to get a note, but my tutor says if I need to progress, I need something better (and I agree!).

Here is where I need the advice!!

One of his pupils has an old Boosey & Hawkes Emporer wooden clarinet for sale, which I believe is dated around 1975. It is in lovely condition (looks hardly used), but I am concerned about paying £250 for something that may need servicing. My other option is a good deal on a new Andino wooden clarinet, which retails for approx £900 down to just under £500. Alternatively, a new student resin Andino for £350. I'm wondering whether I really need wooden at the moment, or whether the best advice would be to go for the best I can afford. Would I be better going for student Buffet or Yamaha? I'm thinking if I upgrade in the future, I may get a better trade in.

Your thoughts would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

I wouldn't try to judge different clarinets sight unheard (sic)...

I admit that I have an inclination towards, uhm, vintage instruments that stood the test of time. I'd probably go for the Boosey, provided I had the chance to give it a whirl.

And even a brand new clarinet might require a short tune-up at the local repair centre just to make sure nothing went askew during shipping and all, so you might want to earmark another fifty-ish quid regardless of vintage and make.

Re Buffet and Yamaha - they may represent a better resale value, but you pay for that with a higher initial investment. On the other hand, you get proven quality, maybe at a premium price.

(For what it's worth, my best allround instrument ever was (and still is) a $29 wooden Vito VSP (which is a Noblet Artist twin).